Thoughts From My Baby’s Father About “The Call”

“The test is mistaken, she’s overreacting, this call will be forgotten in the morning.”The first three sentiments that coursed through my being immediately after hanging up with Alexa Gough, her having just told me the unthinkable, that she was pregnant. 

The sound of fear and dismay in her voice having just permeated to my core. For goodness sake, pause for effect, is anything infallible these days, least of all a pregnancy test…
No indeed, this is a mistake to be sure. I had plans to play poker that evening and so far be it from me to let what was surely going to become as nothing get me out of sorts and disrupt my game. 
Still the realist in me instantly began to peruse through the abundance of dark ramifications associated with the crisis at hand if indeed it was true. I am amongst the most spontaneous of individuals, life is meant to be lived, unapologetically, voraciously, with strength of hand and soundness of mind. 

Yet still, this was unprecedented, the thought of keeping it irresponsible, forbidden even. I took another sip of my blue moon freshly opened, composed myself as is my custom after receiving startling news, and awaited a second call with the the results of a second pregnancy test from the girl I had just told so many of my acquaintances I had fallen in love with.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑